Roast Chicken with Potatoes and Butternut Squash

Roast Chicken with Potatoes and Butternut Squash from Cooking Light

I’m back with a new post!

And this one’s awesome, too. This recipe from Cooking Light is super yummy and is surprisingly not fattening (of course you must eat the correct portion size, which was enough for me).

We decided to try this dish because my husband and I were craving squash, as it is now fall, and fall’s cozey food is so wonderful and comforting. It takes a good hour in the oven, so it was a perfect weekend meal. Even though it takes a while to actually bake, the prep time was super quick.

For those of you who went over and took a peak at the recipe, don’t be overwhelmed by the idea of cooking a whole chicken. It’s really pretty fool-proof. Since chicken has a decent amount of fat to meat ratio, it’s hard to dry out the chicken. And when it comes to actually working with the chicken itself, you must get over the icky-factor. Trust me, it’s worth it and it’s really not that icky.

Anyway, Part of what makes this light dish such a great success is the technique of putting the seasonings for the chicken under the skin. To make this recipe non-fattening, the skin gets taken off, which is often where most of the flavor is. But by putting the seasoning under the skin, all that flavor was able to be absorbed and even stays sitting on top of the meat after the skin has been removed. One tip… the recipe says to take off the skin before serving. I think this is a good move as you won’t be as tempted to take a little bite at the dinner table if you take it off after it’s already on your plate.

I calculated the Weight Watchers Points Plus value of this to be 9 points, which is great for such a comforting meal.

Oh, and to touch on the heart burn value of this meal, it’s pretty low with the recipe as is. Even though there’s garlic in the recipe, it gets cooked down for a good hour with the chicken, so it becomes much less agitating. I did put just slightly less sage in, just in case. My husband seemed to have no directly related heart burn from this meal. (yay!)

Anyway, I definitely recommend you try this one out soon and ring in the fall season the right way. I’m happy I did.

Here’s the recipe:
http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/roast-chicken-with-potatoes-butternut-squash-10000001949705/

Let me know how it goes!

